Age-Friendly Public Health Systems home

ASTHO Achieves Age-Friendly Public Health Systems Recognition

The Association for State and Territorial Health Officials Achieves Age-Friendly Public Health Systems Recognition. They are the first national organization to achieve Age-Friendly Public Health Systems Recognition.

Read about the recognition

What's Public Health Got to Do with... Social Connection?

Social connection is a “vital ingredient in developing and maintaining overall health and well-being,” as well as a “social imperative” for individuals and communities, according to Dr. Paul Reed, Director of the HHS Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.

Read the blog

Building Strategic Partnerships to Create Age-Friendly Communities

A production of Trust for America’s Health’s (TFAH) Age-Friendly Public Health systems Initiative. Hosted by TFAH’s President and CEO Dr. J. Nadine Gracia, this episode features Bill Armbruster, a Senior Advisor at AARP.

Listen today!

Aligning the 10 Essential Public Health Services & the AFPHs 6Cs

The brief illustrates the alignment between Age-Friendly Public Health Systems’ 6Cs Framework for Supporting Healthy Aging and the 10 Essential Public Health Services. Taken together, both frameworks give public health practitioners tools to support healthy aging.

Read the brief

AFPHS Recognition Program Honors Engagement in Healthy Aging

Trust for America’s Health has released a revised AFPHS Recognition Program that honors engagement and provides greater flexibility to achieve recognition.

AFPHS Recognition Program

Events & Resources

Recognition Program

Age-Friendly Public Health Systems Recognition Program

TFAH is supporting state and local health departments as they work to adopt healthy aging as a core public health function through the AFPHS Recognition Program. This program provides states and local health departments with the opportunity to receive recognition for their work to support the health of older adults.

Learn More