Trust for America’s Health (TFAH), in partnership with the National Network of Public Health Institutes (NNPHI), is pleased to announce the selection of 10 public health institutes that will participate in Phase III of the Age-Friendly Public Health Systems (AFPHS) movement. In partnership with and with funding from The John A. Hartford Foundation, TFAH has led the AFPHS movement since 2017, with the goal of elevating healthy aging as a core public health function at all levels. The AFPHS 6Cs Framework was piloted in Florida (2018-2020) and has been the foundation of healthy aging policy and systems change in Michigan, Mississippi, and Washington. The Framework is also the guiding model for the AFPHS Recognition Program and will now be used to guide the development of healthy aging expertise in the public health institute network.

The 10 state public health institutes selected for this opportunity are:

  • Catherine Cutler Institute (University of Southern Maine)
  • Georgia Health Policy Center
  • Hawaii Public Health Institute
  • Kansas Health Institute
  • Michigan Public Health Institute
  • Missouri Center for Public Health Excellence
  • Montana Public Health Institute
  • New Hampshire Community Health Institute
  • South Carolina Institute of Medicine and Public Health
  • West Virginia University Health Affairs Institute

TFAH and NNPHI will guide the public health institutes in building their knowledge and expertise in healthy aging, with the goal of developing state department of health action plans based on the AFPHS 6Cs framework. This process will begin in September of 2023 and be completed in the spring of 2026. Funding for the participating public health institutes is provided through funding from the AFPHS Phase III grant from The John A. Hartford Foundation.