TFAH is working to strategically align the AFPHS initiative with other components of the Age-Friendly Ecosystem. Age-Friendly Health Systems is an initiative of The John A. Hartford Foundation and the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), in partnership with the American Hospital Association (AHA) and the Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA), designed Age-Friendly Health Systems to meet this challenge head on. The goal of the initiative is to rapidly spread the 4Ms Framework to 20% of US hospitals and medical practices by 2020.

Age-Friendly Health Systems aim to: follow an essential set of evidence-based practices; cause no harm; and align with What Matters to the older adult and their family caregivers.​ Learn more and find out if there are AFHS Action Communities in your jurisdiction here

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)

Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB)

Alzheimer’s Association


National Association of Area Agencies on Aging (N4a)

National Council on Aging (NCOA)

National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA)

National Alliance for Caregiving (NAC)

Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)